What Does The British Curriculum Cover?


The British education system is a framework given to the teachers by the UK government. It is finest and most adopted curriculum around the globe.

Renowned for academic excellence across the world, the British curriculum or the English National Curriculum is the first choice for many international families. Nearly half (45 percent) of all international schools that teach the English language offer a British-based curriculum, according to figures from ISC Research.

But what does the British curriculum teach your child?

The British Curriculum:

  • Sets out the most important knowledge and skills that every child has a right to learn
  • Ensures a lifelong love of learning.
  • Ensures that only the most qualified and experienced teachers are employed by schools.
  • Measures how well children are achieving in each subject so that teachers can plan to help them do better.
  • Ensures that all children are taught in a way that is balanced and manageable, but difficult enough to challenge them.
  • Can be adapted to the needs of an international student community.
while the British curriculum makes sure that children develop their potential in all areas of the National Curriculum, the main focus is English, Mathematics and Science.  All subjects in the British Curriculum are tailored to the age and abilities of the students.  Subjects covered include:
  • English (including as an additional language – EAL)
  • Mathematics
  • Science (specialising later into Physics, Biology, Chemistry)
  • Art
  • Drama
  • Design
  • Modern Foreign Languages (MFL)
  • Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Music
  • Personal, Social and Health Education
  • Physical Education
  • Psychology
  • Global Perspectives (GP)

Here are the other things you should know about the British-based curriculum:

Is Your Child’s School Meeting Up?

The British government has a voluntary inspection scheme for British Schools Overseas (BSOs). This ensures schools provide their pupils with the skills and qualifications they need to enter or re-enter the British education system. this inspection is done every three years. And the assessment covers the extent to which the British character of the school is evident in its ethos, curriculum, teaching, care for pupils and pupils’ achievements. This scheme helps to inform parents about how the standards in these schools measure up against the standards that apply to independent schools in England.

Any school that is approved by the Department of Education means that the school has demonstrated that “they provide a British education that has similar characteristics to an education in an independent school in England”. Parents can review these inspection reports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are makes.